I recently acquired an awesome original comic book drawing of catwoman and wanted to hang it up above my makeup/jewelry table. So I popped it into a floating frame I had lying around, but the shiny silver wasn’t really tying in. Washi tape to the rescue!

Took about 10 minutes to go from this:

To this!:

And soon, the slowly-evolving corner of my bedroom went from this:

To this:

It’s a little hard to tell in these photos, but trust me, the floating frame ties in so much better now that it has a gold-striped finish.

To keep it harmonious, I used the same gold-striped washi tape to put up some cards and sketches I had lying around. Along with some postcards of El Bosco’s “Garden of Earthly Delights”, which I saw in the Prado museum in Madrid and which may just be my favorite painting in the entire world (for now).

The beauty of using washi tape is that it’s removable so if I ever get tired of this particular melange, I can always switch it out for whatever’s tickling my fancy at the moment.

